homepage homepage programs
Please note that our agency-wide phone system software upgrade will continue through Saturday, January 18 until approximately 12pm. During this time, all phones at the JCC will be unable to receive incoming phone calls and make outgoing phone calls. We ask that if you need to reach a staff member at the JCC, that you do so by email. For our staff directory, visit www.sjjcc.org/staff.  

Workshops

WORKSHOPS

Whether you’re looking to learn something new or want to become part of a group with shared interests, we offer a variety of workshops that allow you to do both!

If games are your thing, we have Mah Jongg and Canasta, led by Judy Umansky. Love to read? If you want to keep your hands busy, come Knit, Sew, or Quilt at Craft For A Cause or join Beginner’s Quilting.

Sign-up for one of our many popular experiences this fall and find out your next favorite hobby!

CONQUERING CANASTA*
Polish your canasta skills and learn advanced strategies.
6 sessions
Register for Mondays, January 27-March 16 (No class March 2, March 9)
10:30am-1pm
$115 members / $155 nonmembers

MAH JONGG CLINIC* 
Designed for those who know the basic rules and vocabulary, and want advice and advanced strategies on improving their game.
6 sessions
Register for Tuesdays, January 28-March 10 (No class February 25)
$115 members / $155 nonmembers

BEGINNER CANASTA*
Learn the rules, strategies and scoring with hands-on play of this intriguing and challenging game.
6 sessions
Thursdays, January 30-March 5
Register for 10am-12:30pm, morning session
Register for 1:30-4pm, afternoon session
$115 members / $155 nonmembers

SIAMESE MAH JONGG
Requires two players playing two hands at a time.
3 sessions
Register for Wednesdays, February 5-19
12:30-3pm
Register for Tuesdays, March 17-31
12:30-3pm

CRAFTASTIX WITH WENDY LEVY
Make Wednesday afternoons a special time for you and your friends! At our crafting table, you’ll have the chance to learn something new, finish an old project, or enhance your current craft of choice. There is something for everyone! Class size limited.
15 sessions
Register for Wednesdays, February 5-May 27 (No class April 8, April 15)
2:15-4:15pm
$100 members / $130 nonmembers

MAH JONGG NEW CARD WORKSHOP*
Learn the new 2020 Mah Jongg Card.
Register for Tuesday, April 21
7-9:30pm
$15 members / $20 nonmembers

ANNUAL GAMES DAY
Enjoy a light breakfast, buffet lunch and dessert, shop with vendors, and play Mah Jongg, bridge, and canasta at our annual Games Day. Advance registration required.
Register for Wednesday, April 29
At Engineers Country Club
55 Glenwood Road, Roslyn
$136 per person

*With instructor Judy Umansky

 

Elyse Ingber

Director of Visual + Performance Arts

(516) 484-1545 x144

Keeping members educated and entertained is a top priority at SJJCC! Leading this creative charge is Elyse Ingber, the Edward & Bernice Wenger Center for the Arts Director of Performance…

read more

Events

Conquering Canasta

Mon, Jan 27, 2020

10:30am - 1:00pm

Mah Jongg Clinic

Tue, Jan 28, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Beginner Canasta (morning session)

Thu, Jan 30, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Beginner Canasta (afternoon session)

Thu, Jan 30, 2020

1:30pm - 4:00pm

Conquering Canasta

Mon, Feb 03, 2020

10:30am - 1:00pm

Mah Jongg Clinic

Tue, Feb 04, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Siamese Mah Jongg (winter session)

Wed, Feb 05, 2020

12:30pm - 3:00pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Feb 05, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Beginner Canasta (morning session)

Thu, Feb 06, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Beginner Canasta (afternoon session)

Thu, Feb 06, 2020

1:30pm - 4:00pm

Conquering Canasta

Mon, Feb 10, 2020

10:30am - 1:00pm

Mah Jongg Clinic

Tue, Feb 11, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Siamese Mah Jongg (winter session)

Wed, Feb 12, 2020

12:30pm - 3:00pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Feb 12, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Beginner Canasta (morning session)

Thu, Feb 13, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Beginner Canasta (afternoon session)

Thu, Feb 13, 2020

1:30pm - 4:00pm

Conquering Canasta

Mon, Feb 17, 2020

10:30am - 1:00pm

Mah Jongg Clinic

Tue, Feb 18, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Siamese Mah Jongg (winter session)

Wed, Feb 19, 2020

12:30pm - 3:00pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Feb 19, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Beginner Canasta (morning session)

Thu, Feb 20, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Beginner Canasta (afternoon session)

Thu, Feb 20, 2020

1:30pm - 4:00pm

Conquering Canasta

Mon, Feb 24, 2020

10:30am - 1:00pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Feb 26, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Beginner Canasta (morning session)

Thu, Feb 27, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Beginner Canasta (afternoon session)

Thu, Feb 27, 2020

1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mah Jongg Clinic

Tue, Mar 03, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Mar 04, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Beginner Canasta (morning session)

Thu, Mar 05, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Beginner Canasta (afternoon session)

Thu, Mar 05, 2020

1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mah Jongg Clinic

Tue, Mar 10, 2020

10:00am - 12:30pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Mar 11, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Conquering Canasta

Mon, Mar 16, 2020

10:30am - 1:00pm

Siamese Mah Jongg (spring session)

Tue, Mar 17, 2020

12:30pm - 3:00pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Mar 18, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Siamese Mah Jongg (spring session)

Tue, Mar 24, 2020

12:30pm - 3:00pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Mar 25, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Siamese Mah Jongg (spring session)

Tue, Mar 31, 2020

12:30pm - 3:00pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Apr 01, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Mah Jongg New Card Workshop

Tue, Apr 21, 2020

7:00pm - 9:30pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Apr 22, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, Apr 29, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, May 06, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, May 13, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, May 20, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm

Craftastix with Wendy Levy

Wed, May 27, 2020

2:15pm - 4:15pm